Berkeley Neuroscience Director

Ehud Isacoff, PhD (Professor of Neurobiology, Molecular and Cell Biology Department)

ehud_isacoff_2016_headshotSpearheading Berkeley’s strategic plan for neuroscience since 2013, Ehud Isacoff—the Evan Rauch Chair in Neuroscience—is the Director of Berkeley Neuroscience and leads the Berkeley Brain Initiative, a university-wide effort to accelerate and transform neuroscience discovery. Read Isacoff’s full bio…


Executive Committee

  • Silvia Bunge, PhD (Professor of Psychology)
  • Christopher Chang, PhD (Professor of Chemistry and Molecular and Cell Biology, HHMI Investigator)
  • Yang Dan, PhD (Professor of Neurobiology, HHMI Investigator)
  • Andrew Dillin, PhD (Professor of Genetics, Genomics and Development, Thomas and Stacey Siebel Distinguished Chair in Stem Cell Biology, HHMI Investigator)
  • Dan Feldman, PhD (Professor of Neurobiology, Molecular and Cell Biology Department, Division Head of Neurobiology)
  • Jack Gallant, PhD (Professor of Psychology, Co-Director of the Brain Imaging Center)
  • William Jagust, MD (Professor of Public Health)
  • Daniela Kaufer, PhD (Acting Associate Dean and Professor of Integrative Biology)
  • Chunlei Liu, PhD  (Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, Co-Director of the Brain Imaging Center)
  • Bruno Olshausen, PhD (Professor of Optometry, Director of the Redwood Center for Theoretical Neuroscience)
  • Michael Silver, PhD (Associate Professor of Vision Science and Optometry, Director of the Neuroscience PhD Program)
  • Frédéric Theunissen, PhD (Professor of Psychology, Co-Director of ICBS)
  • Joni Wallis, PhD (Professor of Psychology, Equity Adviser)

Executive Committee Staff

  • Barbara Peterson, PhD (Berkeley Neuroscience Executive Director)
  • Patrick Gutteridge, (Senior Director of Development, Berkeley Brain Initiative)
  • Allison Berke, PhD (Weill Neurohub Managing Director)

Past Berkeley Neuroscience Directors

  • Carla  Shatz, PhD (1997-1999)
  • Corey Goodman, PhD (1999-2001)
  • Robert Knight, MD (2001-2011)
  • John Ngai, PhD (2011-2013)